CVBC Committees

The CVBC has several Committees, each made up of hardworking volunteer members who form an integral part of the operations of the College. If you are interested in being assigned to a CVBC Committee, please fill out this Committee Application Form and submit it, along with all requested supporting documents to the office.

Continuing Competence Committee


Role: To design, administer, and enforce the Continuing Competence Program and to develop and implement a process for assessing registrant competence. 

Members: Dr. Sergije Prostran (Chair), Dr. Emma Turner, Dr. Lisa Yee, Dr. Nick Kleider, Mr. Christopher Finding (public member), Dr. Theresa Burns and Dr. Laura Sitter.

Meeting Dates: As needed.

Investigation Committee


Role: To accept, investigate, and resolve or otherwise dispose of complaints. 

Members: Dr. John Bratty (Chair), Dr. Clare Tompkins, Dr. Joanne Weetman, Mr. Gian Sihota (public member), Dr. Saman Moaveni, Dr. Parmjit Dhillon,  Dr. Janet MacLean, Dr. Terry Chatton, Dr. Janet Sunstrum, Ms. Alison Paine (public member) and Dr. Rosamund Harrison (public member).

Meeting Dates:  July 23, 2020, September 10, 2020, October 22, 2020, December 10, 2020

Discipline Committee


Role: To consider citations authorized by the Investigation Committee. 

Members: Dr. Ian Welch (Chair), Dr. Alan Hoey, Dr. Carsten Bandt, Dr. Dalwinder Toor, Dr. Paul Kennedy, Mr. Herman Van Ommen, Q.C. (public member),  Mr. Keith Bracken (public member), Dr. Ruth Kennedy, Dr. Tatjana Mirkovic, Dr. Geoff Gaunt and Dr. Teresa Cook.

Meeting Dates: As needed. 

Registration Committee

Role: To consider applications for registration referred by the Registrar and to oversee the Bylaw and Ethics Exam process.

Members: Dr. Carsten Bandt (Chair), Dr. Denise Phipps, Ms. Jean Whittow, Q.C. (public member), Dr. Ricardo Bonafine, Dr. Trevor Reeves, Dr. Doris Leung, Dr. Tejpaul Bhatia, Dr. Talwinder Dhanjal and Ms. Katherine Crosbie (public member). 

Meeting Dates: August 19, 2020

Practice Facility Accreditation Committee

Role: To review Practice Facility Inspection Reports and authorize accreditation and re-accreditation of facilities as well as provide direction as to other matters that may come up related to the regulation of practice facilities.

Members:  Dr. Ian Welch, Ms. Kim Holbrow (public member), Dr. Kuldeip Sekhon, Dr. Parmjit Dhillon, Dr. Josh Waddington, Dr. Megan Broschak, Dr. Elizabeth Davis and Dr. Gurmeet Bhullar. 

Meeting Dates:  July 29, 2020, September 2, 2020

Additional Committee Information: